The GEC Blog

Culture + Adult Learning + Technology

From a GEC colleague, Toni Hando

Dear Andrea,
I went to Japan to teach English and noticed that sometimes my lesson plans did not go over the way I expected. Eventually I found out that I was asking students to do things they were not expecting in a class. As an American I expect students to give me their opinion and speak out in class. I am using Hofstede’s Model of Cultural Dimensions as a tool to explore our own cultural background. I have had a few ‘Deer in the headlight’ moments from my students. Especially when I have asked them to give me their opinion. I had a Japanese friend, a fellow student in my undergraduate courses, ask me where she could find her opinion. At first I thought it was a vocabulary problem, but then I found out that they are not asked to give opinions and challenge the teacher.
Toni

July 29, 2013 Posted by | Country-Specific Information | , , , , | Leave a comment